Posted by: Pastor Noel Dionson July 4th, 2016

As for those who have been attending church regularly, you already know that I am preaching a

series on the Beatitudes. Right now, I am already on the fourth Beatitude which is “Blessed are those

who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled” (Mat 5:6 NIV).

My preaching of the Beatitude is related to the theme for this year “Make Disciples.” Prior to

preaching the Beatitude, I preached a number of sermons on this theme based on different passages in

the Gospels. Then I came to Matthew 4 where Jesus called Simon Peter, Andrew, John and James to be

“fishers of men” (Matthew 4:18-22). So I shared that we are also called to be fishers of men. After that

I preached about how to be “fishers of men.” I showed that Jesus teaches us that it is by preaching,

teaching and performing signs and wonders that we could bring people into the Kingdom of God. Then I

moved to Matthew 5 which is Jesus’ Sermon on the Mount. The first part of the Sermon on the Mount

is what we call the Beatitudes. My purpose for the preaching the Beatitudes is to understand the 8

blessings shared by Jesus to the first disciples and to the people who responded to his ministering. Since

the Sermon on the Mount was the first preaching the disciples and the people heard, I believe that this

sermon which includes the Beatitudes must be very important to them. If this was important to them, it

must be important to us also.

The word beatitude is from the Latin noun beātitūdō which is means “blessing” or “happiness.”

Beatitude is the anglicized version of beātitūdō. There are 8 Beatitudes that can be found in Matthew

5:3–12 and they are the following:

1. Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. (Mat 5:3 NIV)

2. Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted. (Mat 5:4 NIV)

3. Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the earth. (Mat 5:5 NIV)

4. Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled. (Mat 5:6

5. Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy. (Mat 5:7 NIV)

6. Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God. (Mat 5:8 NIV)

7. Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called sons of God. (Mat 5:9 NIV)

8. Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of

Beatitudes are godly attitudes that characterize a true disciple of Christ. They are also godly

attitudes that provide true happiness or blessedness.

Jesus teaches that true happiness does not come from favorable conditions and pleasurable

feelings. True happiness can even come from unfavorable conditions. It can even come in being poor in

spirit, mourning, meekness and persecution. The 8 Beatitudes can be summarized in two words:

humility and love. Once God sees our humility and love for Him, He will indwell us and give us the

happiness and the blessedness that this world cannot give.

I pray that each one of us will as the Lord to develop the attitudes needed in fulfilling the

Beatitudes so that we can experience true happiness and blessedness in Him.


heaven. (Mat 5:10 NIV)